13 BEST Concrete Drill Bit (Masonry Rated) Reviews 2022

As you plan to complete your masonry projects, you’re surely on the search for the right material, skills, and tools.  Today, we are focusing on drill bits because without them, it will be impossible to effectively use your drill.

Keep reading to learn about our choices for the best concrete drill bits!

Comparison List

Here’s a closer look at some of the top-rated drill bits we found. The list below provides you with a bird’s-eye-view of what is covered in our detailed reviews.

Top Pick
DEWALT SDS Plus Bits Set, Rock Carbide Tip,...
BOSCH 6 Piece SDS-plus Masonry Trade Bit Set,...
BOSCH 7 Piece Carbide-Tipped SDS-plus Rotary...
DEWALT Masonry Drill Bit Set, Percussion, Concrete...
DEWALT DW5470
Bosch 6 Piece HCST006 Bit Set
Bosch 7 Piece HCK001 Drill Bit Set
DEWALT DW5207 7 Piece
Material:
Carbide
Carbide
Carbide
Carbide
Shank Type:
SDS-Max
SDS-Max
SDS
3-Flat
Package Quantity:
5
6
7
7
Spiral Flute Type:
Prime Status:
-
Top Pick
DEWALT SDS Plus Bits Set, Rock Carbide Tip,...
DEWALT DW5470
Material:
Carbide
Shank Type:
SDS-Max
Package Quantity:
5
Spiral Flute Type:
Prime Status:
-
BOSCH 6 Piece SDS-plus Masonry Trade Bit Set,...
Bosch 6 Piece HCST006 Bit Set
Material:
Carbide
Shank Type:
SDS-Max
Package Quantity:
6
Spiral Flute Type:
Prime Status:
BOSCH 7 Piece Carbide-Tipped SDS-plus Rotary...
Bosch 7 Piece HCK001 Drill Bit Set
Material:
Carbide
Shank Type:
SDS
Package Quantity:
7
Spiral Flute Type:
Prime Status:
DEWALT Masonry Drill Bit Set, Percussion, Concrete...
DEWALT DW5207 7 Piece
Material:
Carbide
Shank Type:
3-Flat
Package Quantity:
7
Spiral Flute Type:
Prime Status:

Buying Guide – Picking the Best Concrete Drill Bit

Let nobody lie to you that picking the right drill bit for concrete is an easy job. You will have to consider several factors as you make your choice.

These factors include:

Drill Compatibility

There are different kinds of drills, which in turn means that there are different drill bits for them.

Since we are talking about drill bits for concrete, you want to pick ones designed for that job. Doing that will not only protect your drill from damage, but make your work faster and smoother as well.

Make sure that the bit you pick fits into your drill’s chuck, and keep in mind that the right bit does not necessarily have to come from the same brand as your drill.

Bit Size​

Concrete drill bits come in different sizes, but what you need to focus on is the diameter. Typically, the diameters range between 3 mm to 1/2″.

These bits also come in different lengths, which when combined with the diameter, allow you to drill the hole length and size you desire.

Note that the standard drill bit length will not suffice if you intend to drill deeper holes. Therefore, you may have to keep searching.

Value for Money​

Perhaps you are on a limited budget or you simply do not want to spend much on drill bits. Well, going for a cheaper product is likely to compromise the quality of your work.

This is because cheaper bits are usually made from low-quality material and are therefore likely to shatter or overheat at the most crucial moment.

That said, cheap does not always translate to poor quality, and expensive does not always translate to great quality. Therefore, you want to strike the perfect balance when picking your tools by looking at the specs of the product and comparing them with the price.

Best-Rated Concrete Drill Bit Reviews

Choosing the perfect drill bit for concrete takes time and effort. Perhaps you do not have these, or you simply need help because it is your first time making such a purchase.

Well, we are here to help and that is why we have rounded up some of the top-rated drill bits and reviewed them. This should make it easier for you to make a choice.

1. DEWALT DW5470

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS-Max
Item Weight: ‎7.48 pounds
Item Package Quantity: ‎1
Number Of Pieces: ‎5

To begin our list, we have the DEWALT DW5470. Whether you are a beginner or seasoned concrete worker, you will find this product easy to use, so you can see why it made it to the top of our list.

Additionally, this unit features a flute design that allows for faster and efficient cleaning of drilling debris.

What We Liked

DEWALT is a renowned brand when it comes to the production of power tools, and they did not fail with this one; it offers you the durability you need when working with concrete.

We love that this product comes with five solid bit pieces that allow you to handle several drilling applications effortlessly.

What Could Have Been Better

Unfortunately, the smallest bit in this set is prone to breaking easily, especially when too much pressure is applied.

We feel that the manufacturer should have made it stronger just like the other pieces in this set.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Performs very well and makes drilling easier
  • Different bit sizes
  • Suitable for heavy-duty applications
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Smallest bit not as durable

2. Bosch 6 Piece HCST006 Bit Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS-Max
Thickness: ‎1 inch
Item Weight: ‎1.38 pounds
Item Package Quantity: ‎1
Number Of Pieces: ‎6

As you drill, you do not want the bit to overheat or be too strained as it may break. Luckily, this Bosch unit features a unique flute design to counter all that.

On top of that, this product is suitable for precision drilling because it features a carbide tip that offers resistance and durability.

What We Liked

Bosch 6 Piece HCST006 bit set reviewsThis unit comes with a unique hardening process and enhanced braze. What this means is that the bits last longer and are ideal for heavier drilling applications.

We love the flute design of this set, as it prevents overheating and reduces bit stress. Additionally, the bit heads are made of carbide, and this allows them to withstand even the toughest of jobs.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have complained that these bits fell apart when working on heavier applications and are therefore not as durable as claimed.

The manufacturer should either have made sure the bits were tough and resistant or simply stated that they were not designed for heavy-duty projects.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • The tips are of good quality and cut better than anything else in the set’s price range.
  • Have a wear marker
  • Suitable for precision drilling
  • Flute design for cleaner work
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Smaller drill bits not as durable

3. Bosch 7 Piece HCK001 Drill Bit Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS
Item Weight: ‎‎1.3 pounds
Item Package Quantity: ‎1
Number Of Pieces: 7
Cutting Diameter: ‎0.25 inches; 2 inches; 4 inches
 

This is yet another unit from the Bosch stable, and this only means that they are doing something right. You will find this drill bit set easy to use, and that is something you will appreciate whether you are a professional contractor or a hobbyist.

What We Liked

Bosch 7 Piece HCK001 Drill Bit Set reviews and specificationsWhat we loved most about this product is that these pieces work three times faster compared to standard bits. Of course, this will save you effort and time.

This unit is sturdy and robust and can therefore bore into the toughest of materials. Besides, the seven pieces in this set are more than enough to handle most drilling tasks.

What Could Have Been Better

These bits appear to be smaller than what most users expect. We feel that the manufacturer should have given a more detailed description.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.8 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Four-flute design for easier removal of debris
  • Good quality and durability
  • Comes with storage case
Negative Reviews by Users
  • A little heavy, dull, and rough

4. DEWALT DW5207 7 Piece

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: 3-Flat
Item Weight: ‎‎‎8.8 ounces
Item Package Quantity: ‎1
Number Of Pieces: 7

Only a handful of brands can compete with DEWALT as far as the production of power tools. This masonry drill bet set excels where standard bits fail.

With its seven pieces, it can handle any kind of concrete drilling.

What We Liked

DEWALT 7 pieces drill bit set reviewWe love that these bits are tough yet curvaceous enough to allow rapid penetration. Aside from that, they do a clean and precise job.

You will also appreciate that this unit will give you value for your money, because unlike most other brands, DEWALT is known for maintaining consistency as far as quality and pricing.

What Could Have Been Better

Regrettably, some users have complained that these bits overheat during drilling, and it is probably because of substandard material.

The manufacturer should have used better quality material in the construction of this product to avoid this.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Universally compatible
  • Accurate drilling
  • Easy to maintain and use
Negative Reviews by Users
  • This bit became dull very quickly

5. Fleetise Drill Bits Set 17pcs

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS-Plus
Item Weight: 5.5 pounds
Item Package Quantity: ‎1
Number Of Pieces: 17 

This drill bit set is specifically designed for corded or electric drills. The bits in the set efficiently and rapidly bore holes in concrete, and you will not have to exert too much effort because they are designed to go against the force of your drill.

What We Liked

17pcs Fleetise Drill Bits Set reviews and descriptionAs you use this product, expect the impact force to be produced in massive amounts. The drill bits are made from carbide steel, to make them almost indestructible.

However, what we love most about this product is that it has a thin yet sturdy tip that transfers all the power to the bit’s head so that it can bore through various surfaces efficiently.

Moreover, this product is universal and will fit any hammer drill; with an assortment of seventeen pieces, you can handle different applications effortlessly.

What Could Have Been Better

Customers have complained that this kit is of poor quality and we feel that the manufacturer should simply have used better materials in the construction process.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Good set of concrete bits for the price
  • Durable
  • Great variety of bit and performance
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Storage case not durable

6. Makita 5 Piece Drill Bit Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS
Item Weight: 11.2 ounces
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces: 5

If you are looking for a quality and compact drill set, this could be your best bet. You will note that this set is not as impressive when it comes to the number it includes. It only has five pieces.

Nevertheless, it makes up for that by offering durability. Made from first-rate steel and carbide, these bits offer a superior hardness to the products we have covered so far.

What We Liked

Makita 5 pieces carbide sds drill bit set reviewsIn this set, you will find different size bits that can be used with SDS-Plus rotary hammer drills. Note that your hammer drill has to have a chuck minimum of 7/8″ to use this product.

We love that this product features a flute design that allows an impressive rotation amount within the chuck. This means that you can easily drill through concrete within a short amount of time.

What Could Have Been Better

These drill bits are only suitable for occasional use; otherwise, they will fall apart, according to some users. We feel that the manufacturer should have made the bits strong enough to withstand regular use.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Works great drilling limestone and stucco
  • Durable tips
  • Value for money
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Only suitable for occasional use

7. Owl Tools 10 Piece Masonry Drill Bits Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Finish Type: Chrome
Item Weight: 12.8 ounces
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces: 10 

Perhaps you intend to drill through different materials. Well, you will be pleased to learn that this set is as versatile as they come; its ten pieces are no joke.

The bit’s tips are made from carbide, hence they are quite durable. Carbide tips are sharper, as well, so expect to complete your tasks faster.

What We Liked

Owl Tools 10 pieces masonry chrome drill bit set review

Many drill bet sets do not come with a storage case, although it is a useful accessory. We love that the manufacturer of this set had this in mind and provided one along with the product.

The case will protect your bits from corrosion, as well as keep them organized.

Moreover, these drill bits are as tough and durable as they come; some users have even claimed that they drill through concrete like hot knives cutting through butter.

What Could Have Been Better

Although these bits are claimed to be durable and tough, some users have claimed that they do not drill through all kinds of materials.

The manufacturer should have made them strong enough to handle various applications.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.8 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Easy-to-use
  • Comes with a storage case
  • Versatile
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Prone to overheating

8. DEWALT DW5468

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS
Size: 1-1/8″ x 8″ x 10″
Item Weight: ‎1 pounds
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces:

At this point, you can tell that DeWALT does not play when it comes to the production of power tools. Therefore, you should not expect the DW5468 bit to be any different.

This product comes with a solid carbide tip that is durable and suitable for heavy-duty applications.

What We Liked

DEWALT DW5468 drill bit reviewJust like most tough bits, this unit comes in a four-flute design. This allows your bit to clear out debris as you drill, which improves your working speed.

We love that this piece can drill neat and accurate holes to make your work look more professional. Another thing worthy of note is that it can be used on both cordless and corded drills.

What Could Have Been Better

According to online reviews, this bit’s tip is not made from solid steel and is likely to break. The manufacturer should have stated this in the product description to avoid confusion.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Suitable for cordless and electric drills
  • Four-flute helix design to reduce noise levels
  • Easy to use
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Need to let the bit cool down often

9. WORKPRO SDS-Plus Drill Bit Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS-Plus
Item Weight: ‎1.8 pounds
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces:

This set contains eight pieces with different measurements, so if you are looking for versatility, you may want to consider it. The larger bits will not break or be deformed, and they will drill rapidly, saving you lots of time.

What We Liked

WORKPRO Carbide SDS-Plus Drill Bit Set reviewIf you have a machine with an SDS+ system, this drill bit set will come in handy. Perhaps you do not know this, but SDS+ systems come with much more power than SDS drills. To match that power, this set contains stronger bits designed to last longer.

We also love that this unit features a U-shape flute design to help clear debris from your workspace.

What Could Have Been Better

Some of the bits in this set are not as durable as claimed because some users have reported that they fell apart while using.

We feel that the manufacturer should have made the bits with uniformity to avoid this.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Quality built
  • Great packaging
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Bits are not uniformly made

10. BLACK+DECKER Masonry Drill Bit Set (16748)

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: SDS-Plus
Item Weight: ‎8 ounces
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces:

If you are looking for easy, fast, and efficient drilling, look no further because this unit from BLACK+DECKER offers all that.

This set drills two times faster compared to regular drill bits.

What We Liked

When working on concrete or any other surface, you want neat results achieved within a short period, and this is what this product offers.

However, what we find most appealing when it comes to this product is that it features a speed tip that will save you time and effort.

It also features a flute design to help you achieve cleanliness when drilling.

What Could Have Been Better

From user reviews, it appears that the smallest bit from this set tends to overheat. The manufacturer should have made sure all the bits performed uniformly before launching the product.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Speed tip for faster drilling
  • Flute design for cleaning drilled material
  • Precision drilling
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Smallest bit tends to burn out when used continuously

11. Bosch HCBG700 Drill Masonry Bit Set

Specification List:

Material: Carbide
Shank Type: Straight
Item Weight: ‎13.4 ounces
Item Package Quantity: 1
Number Of Pieces:

We cannot deny that Bosch is a force to reckon with as far as power tools are concerned, and rightfully so because the company has worked to earn its reputation.

The bits in this kit feature carbide tips, which allow you to drill faster and effortlessly.

What We Liked

Most of the drill bits on this list will have a hard time catching up with this unit when it comes to performance.

Although the fact that the tips are made from diamond carbide makes them less durable, you will not be disappointed with their operation. We also love that this product comes with a carrying case to keep the bits organized and protected from corrosion.

What Could Have Been Better

When it comes to the diameter of these bits, the manufacturer only included two common ones, and this can be restricting.

We feel that they should have included a variety of diameters to make the bits more versatile.

Buyer Feedback Section

Last updated: October 22, 2021

Overall Rating 4.8 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Comes with a storage case
  • Do not wear out easily
  • Easy-to-use
  • Flute design allows for clean drilling
Negative Reviews by Users
  • No variety of common bit sizes
  • Smaller bits tip not as durable

Frequently Asked Questions

Below, we tackle some commonly asked questions on this topic to give you a clearer picture and help inform your buying decision.

Can a regular drill bore holes into concrete?

Yes, it can. Most people believe that it can only be done with hammer drills and hardened bits, but that is not the case.

Is water necessary when drilling concrete?

No, it is not, but it helps gather and eliminate the drilling dust as well as prevents your bit from overheating.

Our Top Pick

All the drill bits we have reviewed are worthy but after careful consideration and assessment, our top pick has to be the DEWALT DW5470.

This drill bit set comprises five pieces, which is not as many as some of the others on the list, but we love that because it contributes to making the product user-friendly.

On top of that, this unit allows for the cleaning of drilling debris and faster drilling because it features a flute design.

Moreover, this product is durable and therefore makes it to be one of the best concrete drill bits.

Conclusion

Concrete is a heavy substance, so if you are planning to drill through it, you want to use the right tools designed for the job. We know that may be hard for you to do, and that is why we put this review together.

With all the information you have in your hands now, it should not be that hard to make the right choice.

Leave us a comment and let us know which drill worked for you!

Leave a Comment