Best Drill Bits for Electricians in 2022 – Top 11 Picks

You have probably heard the phrase that you need a hole, not a drill bit. How you get that hole is entirely up to you but we beg to differ especially for electric work.

You see, as an electrician, you need precise holes so the drill bit you use matters a lot. Since that is the case, you want to go for the best drill bits for electricians.

What exactly are we talking about? Read on, we have an answer for you.

Top-Rated Electrician Drill Bits: Comparison Table

Before proceeding with this review, we would like to introduce you to the following comparison table. It summarizes our top choices so that you do not have to read everything on here to make a choice. Quite ingenious wouldn’t you say?

SnakeBit Drill 5/16" x 18" Wood Cable Installer...
Milwaukee 48-32-4025 SHOCKWAVE Impact Duty...
Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Shank Installer Drill...
AUTOTOOLHOME 6 Pack Titanium Combination Drill Tap...
DEWALT Drill Bit, Spade, 6-Piece (DW1587)
IRWIN SPEEDBOR Drill Bit Set for Wood, 4-Inch,...
SnakeBit Drill 3/8″ x 18″ Bellhanger Drill Bit
Milwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit Set
Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Drill Bit
Autotoolhome Drill and Tap Bit Set of 6
Dewalt DW1587 Drill Bit Set
Irwin Speedbor 1877239 Drill Bit Set
Rating:
-
-
-
-
-
-
Material:
‎High Speed Steel
Alloy Steel
Hardened Steel
Metal , Carbon Steel , High Speed Steel
Heavy duty shank
Steel
Shank Type:
HollowMilwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit Set
-
Triangle
Hex
-
Hex
Number of Pieces:
-
52
1
6
6
6
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
SnakeBit Drill 5/16" x 18" Wood Cable Installer...
SnakeBit Drill 3/8″ x 18″ Bellhanger Drill Bit
Rating:
-
Material:
‎High Speed Steel
Shank Type:
HollowMilwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit Set
Number of Pieces:
-
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
Milwaukee 48-32-4025 SHOCKWAVE Impact Duty...
Milwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit Set
Rating:
-
Material:
Alloy Steel
Shank Type:
-
Number of Pieces:
52
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Shank Installer Drill...
Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Drill Bit
Rating:
-
Material:
Hardened Steel
Shank Type:
Triangle
Number of Pieces:
1
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
AUTOTOOLHOME 6 Pack Titanium Combination Drill Tap...
Autotoolhome Drill and Tap Bit Set of 6
Rating:
-
Material:
Metal , Carbon Steel , High Speed Steel
Shank Type:
Hex
Number of Pieces:
6
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
DEWALT Drill Bit, Spade, 6-Piece (DW1587)
Dewalt DW1587 Drill Bit Set
Rating:
-
Material:
Heavy duty shank
Shank Type:
-
Number of Pieces:
6
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?
IRWIN SPEEDBOR Drill Bit Set for Wood, 4-Inch,...
Irwin Speedbor 1877239 Drill Bit Set
Rating:
-
Material:
Steel
Shank Type:
Hex
Number of Pieces:
6
Quick-Change Shank ?
Prime?

How to Pick the Best Drill Bits for Electricians

We realize that we did not define what a drill bit is. Well, it is a detachable tool that you fit into your drill to make holes in different materials such as stone, wood, or metal.

Right here and now, we will tell you that you need a flexible drill bit for electrical work but that is not all. You want to consider other crucial factors as well when picking including:

The Material

As you embark on your journey to shop for drill bits, you want to determine what you intend to use them for first.

Will you be drilling into wood or stone? Or do you intend to make some clean-cut holes on delicate materials such as glass?

By doing this, you will be better placed to pick the right drill bit.

Bit Robustness

Whether or not you will be drilling into tough material, you need a drill bit that is built to last. This is because even if you will be drilling into softer material like plastic, the drill bit will be exposed to elements such as moisture.

The last thing you want is to constantly replace bits simply because you chose to buy those that are not durable.

Rust-Protection

Most drill bits are made of steel and since that is a metal, it is prone to corrosion. What you then want is a drill bit coated with corrosion-resistant material.

Black oxide is a common coating that not only protects against corrosion but also reduces friction between the drill bit and your workpiece. The only downside to this coating is that it doesn’t last as long.

You may then opt for titanium coating which delivers the same but lasts longer. Of course, titanium coated bits may cost more but we believe that will be a price you will be willing to pay seeing as you get more sharpness and durability.

Best-Rated Drill Bits or Electricians

It may be difficult for you to get your hands on the perfect drill bit for electrical wiring because the options in the market are numerous.

However, we have rounded up some of the top options to help you make a choice.

1. SnakeBit Drill 3/8″ x 18″ Bellhanger Drill Bit

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Cutting Angle String: 118 Degrees
Shank Type: Hollow 
Special Features:

     – Ptented hollow shank
     – Eliminates wire pulling with a bellhanger
     – Eliminates fishing wire backwards through walls

SnakeBit Drill 3/8" x 18" Bellhanger Drill BitOn top of our list, we have this bit from Snakebit. It is made in the USA which has a reputation for producing quality products so you can rest assured that it will easily cut through different materials without falling apart.

What We Liked About It

As an electrician, you will often feel the need to pull wires back through walls which can be quite hectic. With this bit, you can simply install your wires in the same direction you are working.

It is also extremely easy to use making it ideal for beginners and we love that about it.

What Could Have Been Better

According to some users, their packages arrived open and we feel that the manufacturer could have done a better job as far as the packaging.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.8 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Sturdy
  • Easy to use
  • Built to last
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Packaging could be better

2. Milwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Number Of Pieces: 52
Special Features:
     – Optimized Shock Zone geometry
     – Shockwave driver bits
     – Increased wear resistance

52 piece Milwaukee 48-32-4025 Drive Bit SetNow, this is a refurbished product, but you do not have to be concerned about that because it is tested and certified to look and function like new.

What We Liked About It

The first thing we noticed about this bit is that it comes with all the relevant accessories. However, what we loved most is that the bits in this set are built to offer durability even for the toughest of jobs.

What Could Have Been Better

These bits do a bit of overheating as reported by some users. We feel that the manufacturer should have coated them in black oxide or titanium to avoid that.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.2 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Comes with a storage case
  • Durable
  • Comes with relevant accessories
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Tends to overheat

3. Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Shank Installer Drill Bit

Specification List:
Material: Spring steel, Hardened Steel
Finish: Powder Coat
Shank Type: Triangle
Number Of Pieces: 1
Special Features:
     – Aggressive and self feeding auger point
     – Flexible spring steel shank
     – Three flat non-slip grip

Eagle Tool US EA75054 Flex Shank Installer Drill Bit HSSThis is yet another product from the USA. It is made from premium steel and is therefore tough as they come. The bit also moves rapidly through some of the hardest materials because it is self-feeding.

What We Liked About It

You will find this bit easy to use and we believe that will come in handy particularly if it is your first time. We also love that it is reasonably priced hence giving you value for money.

What Could Have Been Better

This bit becomes blunt quicker than expected as reported by some users. We feel that the manufacturer should have checked on that before releasing the product to the market.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Value for money
  • Easy to use
  • Rapid action
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Could be sharper

Product Documentation

4. Autotoolhome Drill and Tap Bit Set of 6

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel, Carbon Steel, Metal
Tool Flute Type: Spiral
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 6
Special Features:
     – 6 SAE sizes
     – Quick Change ¼-inch (6.35mm) hex shank
     – Durable taps

AUTOTOOLHOME hex shank Drill and Tap Bit Set of 6You get a wide range of drill bits with this set of 6. As such, you can do things like countersinking, deburring, tapping, and drilling with bits from the same kit.

What We Liked About It

These bits are made from hardened high-speed steel to give you a longer life and we believe you will appreciate that.

Another thing about these bits is that they penetrate faster thus saving you time and energy. We love that about them.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have reported that these bits broke while using and we feel that the manufacturer should have made them with longevity in mind.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Long-lasting
  • Versatile
  • Reasonably priced
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not for heavy-duty applications

5. Dewalt DW1587 Drill Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: Heavy duty shank
Number Of Pieces: 6
Special Features:
     – Optimized cutting groove
     – Chamfered corners
     – Includes six common sizes
     – Paddle hole for easy wire pulling

DEWALT DW1587 Drill Bit Set heavy dutyWith 6 bits, there is so much you can do and that is exactly what this set offers. The bits are also easy to use so go figure.

What We Liked About It

Aside from the versatility you get with this set, you will also get to enjoy the fact that these bits are compatible with most drills and that is what we loved most about them.

What Could Have Been Better

These bits come in a plastic pouch that most users have complained is not as durable hence not able to protect the bits. We feel that the manufacturer should have used a sturdier case.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.8 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Multipurpose
  • Compatible with most drills
  • User-friendliness
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Inadequate packaging

6. Irwin Speedbor 1877239 Drill Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: Steel
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 6
Special Features:
     – Three cutting spurs
     – Shorter overall length
     – 1/4″ quick-change shank

IRWIN SPEEDBOR 1877239 Drill Bit SetThe bits in this set feature three cutting spurs so that you have cleaner holes, extended life, less breakout, and a faster drilling process.

What We Liked About It

Another thing about these bits is that they come with full screw-point tips that allow self-feeding for an easier drilling experience.

We love that the bits are generally shorter to facilitate drilling in tight spaces.

What Could Have Been Better

Unfortunately, these bits are a little bit too aggressive for regular use. We feel that the manufacturer should have made some of the bit in the set less aggressive to balance that out.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Greater accuracy
  • Thick
  • Sheer
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Could be less aggressive

7. CO-Z 10 Titanium Step Drill Bit

This is one of the best electrician power tools you will ever come across simply because it is made from high-speed steel to deliver longer life.

What We Liked About It

The bit is coated in titanium to make it easier to cut through materials such as wood, plastic, and metal with ease.

What we found most appealing nonetheless is that the bit features a two-flute design that allows particles to escape easily and clears chips faster.

What Could Have Been Better

This bit is too slow according to some users. The manufacturer should have included more cutting spurs in the bit for faster cutting.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Corrosion-resistant
  • Designed to eliminate slippage
  • Two-flute design for faster chip clearing
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Could be faster

8. Irwin 304300 Weldtec Ship Auger

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Tool Flute Type: Spiral
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 1
Special Features:
     – Fully Forged Bit for Durability
     – Cutting edge is welded to the base material
     – Superior performance and durability

IRWIN 304300 Weldtec Ship Auger spiralIf you are looking for an auger drill bit that will last longer, you have to consider this one as it comes with a harder cutting edge.

What We Liked About It

This bit is made from superior material as well so you can expect it to give you days of efficient service. We love that it is sturdy as well thus decreasing the chances of it falling apart.

What Could Have Been Better

According to several users, this bit is poorly sharpened and we feel that the manufacturer should have checked to see that the sharpening was perfect before launching the product.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • High quality
  • Sturdy
  • Built for longevity
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Could be sharper

9. Greenlee 66PT-3/4 BIT

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Tool Flute Type: Spiral
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 3
Special Features:
     – Seven US Based Manufacturing Facilities
     – Proven and Tested for durability
     – Patented design for improved cutting

Greenlee alloy steel 66PT-3/4 BITFrom the Greenlee stable, comes this drill bit with a patented design to give you cleaner holes and improved cutting.

What We Liked About It

We love that this bit is tested and proven for durability. You will need that for both DIY and professional applications.

What Could Have Been Better

Judging from reviews, this bit discolors and rusts. The manufacturer should have used coating to avoid this.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Highly functional
  • Hard-wearing
  • Greater precision
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not corrosion resistant

10. McJ Tools HSS M2 Drill Bit

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Special Features:
     – Work well with abrasive materials
     – Extremely High Accuracy <0.1mm
     – Includes extra pilot bit, set screw and allen wrench

McJ Tools HSS M2 Drill Bit HSSConfidently drill through a wide range of materials including copper, steel, and cast iron with this bit simply because it is built to offer durability.

What We Liked About It

With this product, you get to achieve cleaner holes and that makes it an ideal cable drill bit. What we love most nevertheless is that the bit is extremely sharp making drilling easier and faster.

What Could Have Been Better

This bit broke while using as some users have complained. The manufacturer should have used better quality material in the construction to guarantee durability.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Precise
  • Sharp
  • Versatile
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not as long-lasting

11. Greenlee 62PTS-3/4 BIT

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Shank Type: Hex
Special Features:
     – Improved cutting edge
     – Patented new design
     – Self-feeding screw point

Hex Greenlee 62PTS-3/4 BITThe manufacturer of this bit ensured that it has a sharp cutting edge and that translates to a longer lifespan. How cool is that?

This could easily pass as the perfect drill bit for electrical wiring since it comes in a patented design that delivers improved cutting and precise holes.

We love that the bit is exclusively designed to get into intricate spaces as well.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have complained that this product does not come with user instructions and we feel that the manufacturer should have simply included them.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating –  4.4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Lightweight
  • Resilient
  • Improved cutting edge
Negative Reviews by Users
  • No user instructions

Frequently Asked Questions

We have addressed some commonly asked questions about the best-selling drill bits for electricians below to give you a clearer insight on the same.

What is the best drill for electricians?

There are many great products in the market so picking one out as the perfect choice would be a tough call. Look out for features such as durability and speed to guide your purchasing decision.

Which is better, cobalt or titanium drill bits?

Titanium bits work better for materials like plastic and wood because they are softer. Cobalt bits are made for tougher materials like cast iron.

What power tools do electricians use?

That would be things like wire strippers screwdrivers, and pliers among others.

Our Top Pick

The SnakeBit Drill 3/8″ x 18″ Bellhanger Drill Bit has to be our top pick on this list. The fact that it is made in the USA a country that is known for producing quality products is the first reason for our choice.

It is also user friendly making it the perfect companion for beginners. We love that it is also reasonably priced hence giving you value for money.

Conclusion

As you can tell by now, drill bits play an important role when it comes to electric installations. A bit is to a drill what a blade is to a saw.

Picking the highest quality drill bits for electricians may not be the easiest job and that is why we put this guide together.

With it at your disposal, you should be able to make an informed choice without too much hassle.

Leave a Comment