Top 11 Best Machinist Drill Bits of 2022 & How to Choose Right

It does not matter whether you are a professional contractor or DIY hobbyist, you will need a drill at some point. Now, you want to keep in mind that the drill will be useless without drill bits.

A drill bit is to a drill what a blade is to a saw. Get it? As such, you want to get the best machinist drill bits to make your drill functional.

Perhaps you do not know where to begin your search but that is why we have put this review together. At the end of it, you should be able to make an informed choice so you may want to keep reading.

Good Machinist Drill Bits: Comparison Table

The following table will come in handy if you are unable to go through the entire review. It summarizes each of the products in this review so you can have an easier time picking out one.

Metric M42 8% Cobalt Twist Drill Bits Set for...
COMOWARE Number Size Drill Bit Set 60pcs- Jobber...
Craftsman 100 Piece drilling and driving kit
Norseman Drill Bits 44170 Ultra Dex Type 240-UB...
DRILLFORCE (10 Pcs) 9/32in. x 4-1/4 in. HSS Cobalt...
BLACK+DECKER Screwdriver Bit Set / Drill Bit Set,...
Metric M42 8% Drill Bits Set
Comoware 60pcs Drill Bit Set
Craftsman 100 Piece driving and drilling kit
Norseman 44170 Drill Bits
Drillforce 10 Pcs Drill Bits
Black+Decker BDA91109 Screwdriver Bit Set
Rating:
-
-
-
-
-
Material:
Cobalt
High Speed Steel
Alloy Steel
High Speed Steel
Cobalt
Alloy Steel
Finish:
Titanium
Black & Gold
Black oxide
Gold Oxide
Ember Finished Gold Color
Black
Number of Pieces:
19
60
100
29
10
109
Shank Type:
Straight
Straight
-
-
Straight and Round
-
135-degree Split?
Prime?
Metric M42 8% Cobalt Twist Drill Bits Set for...
Metric M42 8% Drill Bits Set
Rating:
-
Material:
Cobalt
Finish:
Titanium
Number of Pieces:
19
Shank Type:
Straight
135-degree Split?
Prime?
COMOWARE Number Size Drill Bit Set 60pcs- Jobber...
Comoware 60pcs Drill Bit Set
Rating:
-
Material:
High Speed Steel
Finish:
Black & Gold
Number of Pieces:
60
Shank Type:
Straight
135-degree Split?
Prime?
Craftsman 100 Piece drilling and driving kit
Craftsman 100 Piece driving and drilling kit
Rating:
-
Material:
Alloy Steel
Finish:
Black oxide
Number of Pieces:
100
Shank Type:
-
135-degree Split?
Prime?
Norseman Drill Bits 44170 Ultra Dex Type 240-UB...
Norseman 44170 Drill Bits
Rating:
-
Material:
High Speed Steel
Finish:
Gold Oxide
Number of Pieces:
29
Shank Type:
-
135-degree Split?
Prime?
DRILLFORCE (10 Pcs) 9/32in. x 4-1/4 in. HSS Cobalt...
Drillforce 10 Pcs Drill Bits
Rating:
-
Material:
Cobalt
Finish:
Ember Finished Gold Color
Number of Pieces:
10
Shank Type:
Straight and Round
135-degree Split?
Prime?
BLACK+DECKER Screwdriver Bit Set / Drill Bit Set,...
Black+Decker BDA91109 Screwdriver Bit Set
Rating:
Material:
Alloy Steel
Finish:
Black
Number of Pieces:
109
Shank Type:
-
135-degree Split?
Prime?

Buying Guide – How to Pick the Best Machinist Drill Bits

For you to pick the perfect drill bits, you need to consider a few crucial factors before making your purchase. Some of these factors include:

Drill Bit Material

As you begin your search for the best bits, you need to determine what you intend to do with them. This will help you pick the right material.

For instance, if you will be drilling into concrete or wood, you will need stronger drill bits than the person who intends to drill through plastic.

The last thing you want is for your bits to fall apart before you complete your project right?

Bit Accuracy

Once you have settled on the material, you then want to think about accuracy. How accurate do you need your projects to be?

Usually, professional tasks require greater accuracy compared to DIY projects. Some drill bits are designed to create clean holes while others are not.

Check the product description to see what kind you are getting.

Drill Bit Coatings

Most bits come with a coating to keep them sharp, increase strength, and prevent corrosion. For instance, some manufacturers use black oxide to cover their bits. This makes the bit heat resistant and adds a layer of lubrication. It is one of the inexpensive options.

Others use titanium nitride, which is a hard ceramic for covering high-speed bits. This kind of coating helps extend the life of a drill bit.

If you will be cutting through extremely tough materials, you may want to opt for a diamond-coated bit because it makes the bit more abrasive.

This kind of coating generates a lot of heat so you may have to cool your bit frequently while using.

Drill Bit Shape

Most of the drill bits available for regular purchase come with a straight shank. However, the ones designed for heavy-duty applications tend to have a tapered shank.

Of course, there are other shank shapes such as the hex-shaped so you just have to pick the one that suits your application best.

We would encourage you to go for a bit set with different sizes and shapes, as it will offer you more versatility.

Top-Rated Machinist Drill Bits

There are numerous options in the market when it comes to machinist drill bits so you are likely to be confused once you begin searching.

That is why we have reviewed some of the best-rated options in the market to make your job easier.

1. Metric M42 8% Drill Bits Set

Specification List:
Material: Cobalt
Finish: Titanium
Shank Type: Straight
Number Of Pieces: 19
Special Features:
     – Titanium flute spiral design
     – 135 Degrees cutting angle string
     – 3 steps design

Metric M42 8% Drill Bits Set 19 pcsFirst, on our list, we have this set made of first-rate cobalt steel. What this does is to give you the best chip, wear, and heat resistance.

With this product, cutting through plastic, aluminum, and steel will be a breeze.

What we liked

One thing we noticed about the pieces in this set is that they can cut through metal easily. This means that they are durable. Of course, we expected that because they are made from premium material.

However, what we loved most is that the set comprises 19 pieces that offer a decent level of versatility.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have complained that although the manufacturer claims that this product claims to cut through stainless steel, they struggled to make a hole on the same.

The manufacturer should have used diamond coating to make it easier for the bits to go through tough material.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.5 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Durable
  • Value for money
  • Accurate
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Misleading product description

2. Comoware 60pcs Drill Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Finish: Black & Gold
Shank Type: Straight
Number Of Pieces: 60
Special Features:
     – 135-degree Point Tip
     – Includes the drill bit holder with size index
     –Spiral flute design

Comoware 60pcs Drill Bit SetIf you are looking for a general-purpose bit set, you have to consider this one. It comes with 60 pieces that can handle different applications.

Other than that, they come with a gold finish to make them harder and resistant to corrosion.

What we liked

We love that with this set, you are not limited to DIYs. It is designed to handle woodworking and engineering tasks as well.

Another great thing is that the set comes with a bit holder for easier organizing and storage.

What Could Have Been Better

According to some users, their packages arrived with some missing bit pieces. We feel that the manufacturer should have checked on this before releasing the product from the factory.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.2 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Versatile
  • Durable
  • Accurate
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Missing pieces

3. Craftsman 100 Piece driving and drilling kit

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Finish: Black oxide
Number Of Pieces: 100
Special Features:
     – Convenient carrying case
     – Crafted from a hardened alloy steel

100 Piece Craftsman  driving and drilling kitWe doubt that you will have a problem finding every bit you may require for your projects because this bit set features a whopping 100 pieces.

Do not even get us started on the folding case that comes with the product. With such an accessory, you will find it easier to organize and store your bits.

What we liked

If you are a beginner, you will love this product because the pieces are easy to remove and you will probably need to change them according to your needs.

What we found most appealing however is that this is one of the most affordable options on this list and it does not compromise on quality.

What Could Have Been Better

This product does not come with a user manual according to several reviews. The manufacturer should have simply included one in each product.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.5 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Value for money
  • Easy to remove
  • Versatile
Negative Reviews by Users
  • User manual not included

4. Norseman 44170 Drill Bits

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Finish: Gold Oxide
Number Of Pieces: 29
Special Features:
     – NAS 907B Heavy Duty Jobber
     – 135-Degree Split Point
     – Precision ground point, flutes

Norseman 44170 Drill Bits HSSWith this Norseman unit, you can be assured of value and quality because that is what the company endeavors to deliver.

What we liked

This would be an ideal set if you want cleaner holes because the bits are designed to drill with precision. However, what we found most appealing about this set is that it is built for durability.

Frequent replacement will not be a concern here.

What Could Have Been Better

Although the product description states that this set is durable, users have complained that it is cheaply made and will not stand the test of time.

We feel that the manufacturer should have used better-quality material in the construction.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Accurate
  • Durable
  • Value for money
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Questionable quality

5. Drillforce 10 Pcs Drill Bits

Specification List:
Material: Cobalt
Finish: Ember Finished Gold Color
Shank Type: Straight and Round
Number Of Pieces: 10
Special Features:
     – 135 Tip & Twist Design
     – Brand new and high quality
     – Professional & DIY Use

Drillforce Cobalt 10 Pcs Drill BitsThese bits feature a high-speed construction to provide you with durability. Besides, the cutting edge is honed and hardened for sharpness so you can expect accuracy.

What we liked

Looking at these bits, they come with a twist design and split point tip to increase the cutting speed. This also means that the bits quickly clear away any particles or chips while drilling. We love that.

What Could Have Been Better

Going by reviews, some of the pieces in this set snapped the first time they were used. The manufacturer should have coated them with diamond powder to make it harder.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.6 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Sharp
  • Accurate
  • High-speed
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not as durable

6. Black+Decker BDA91109 Screwdriver Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Finish: Black
Number Of Pieces: 109
Special Features:
     – Portable hard case with extra storage
     – Variety of 1 in. and 2 in. screw driving bits

Black+Decker BDA91109 Screwdriver Bit Set 109 pcsIn this set, you will find a variety of bits that will come in handy for your DIY projects. Along with the bits, the manufacturer included a portable case that will safeguard the bits and keep them organized.

What we liked

This set is perfect for beginners because the pieces in it are easy to remove. Nevertheless, what we loved most about it is that it is built to offer durability so you do not have to think about replacements often.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have complained that these bits begin to rust after a while. The manufacturer should have used an appropriate coating to avoid this.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.7 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Durable
  • Easy to remove
  • Storage case
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Prone to corrosion

7. Owl Tools 10 Piece Drill Bits Set

Specification List:
Material: Carbide
Finish: Chrome
Number Of Pieces: 10
Special Features:
     – Spiral flute design
     – Convenient storage case
     – Industrial Grade drill bits

Owl Tools 10 Piece Drill Bits SetWhether you are looking to drill through glass, tile, or concrete, you will find a suitable partner in this drill bit set because it is designed to offer durability.

What we liked

In this set, you will find carbide-tipped bits that will stay sharper for longer and provide you with longevity.

We love that the bits come with a storage case to keep them rust-free and organized.

What Could Have Been Better

Users have come out to say that the claim that these bits can drill through concrete and tile is a lie. We feel that the manufacturer should have been transparent on that to avoid customer mistrust.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Great packaging
  • Easy to remove
  • Durable
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Misleading product description

8. Chew Steel Tools 100-Piece Drill Bit Set

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Finish: Titanium
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 100
Special Features:
     – Comprehensive and high quality
     – Comes in a durable, portable storage case
     – Designed for all power tool brands

100-Piece CHEW STEEL TOOLS  Drill Bit SetIf you are looking for versatility, you will certainly find it in this set since it features 100 pieces that can go through plastic, metal, wood, and concrete.

What we liked

Each of the bits in this set is color-coded to make selection easier for you. It also comes with a case to keep them in place and easy to store away.

We love that the bits are easy to remove hence making this set suitable for everyone.

What Could Have Been Better

These bits broke and deformed on the first use according to some users. We feel that the manufacturer should have used better quality material in the construction to counter that.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.5 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Easy to remove
  • Versatile
  • Comes with storage case
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not as durable

9. Rocaris 23-Pack Countersink Drill Bits

Specification List:
Material: High Speed Steel
Finish: Titanium
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 23
Special Features:
     – 90 Degrees Cutting angle string
     – 5 flute countersink drill bit
     – Polished cutting edge
     – 1/4-inch hex shank

titanium coated Rocaris 23-Pack Countersink Drill BitsYou do not have to think of frequent replacement with this set since the pieces are made of durable carbon steel.

What we liked

The bits come with a polished cutting edge and what this does is to reduce friction. This also makes them suitable for drilling through extremely thick materials.

We love that the set is reasonably priced as well hence giving you value for your money.

What Could Have Been Better

Some users have reported that the bags used to package this set were inadequate with some objects protruding.

The manufacturer should simply have used better packaging.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.2 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Thick
  • Durable
  • Value for money
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Inadequate packaging

10. Triangular-Overlord Working Drill Bits

Specification List:
Material: Alloy Steel
Shank Type: Triangle
Number Of Pieces: 10
Special Features:
     – Fine grinding of the drill body
     – 135 degrees Split point tip
     – Alloy head material with stronger hardness

Triangular-Overlord Working 10 pcs Drill BitsThese bits come with a unique design that allows for rapid dust removal and discharge of heat. The design also facilitates drilling of accurate holes.

What we liked

With this set, you will be able to drill through a variety of materials and we are sure you will love that because it gives you versatility.

The bits are also easy to use hence suitable for beginners and we love that about this product.

What Could Have Been Better

Unfortunately, these bits tend to overheat. We feel that the manufacturer should have polished the cutting edge to reduce friction and chances of overheating.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Easy to use
  • Efficient design
  • Versatile
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Tends to overheat

11. Diamond 10Pcs Drill Bits

Specification List:
Material: Stainless Steel
Finish: Diamond 
Shank Type: Hex
Number Of Pieces: 10
Special Features:
     – Solid end and larger surface area
     – durable and long service life

Diamond 10Pcs diamond Drill BitsIf you are looking for the perfect set of bits to cut through tile, glass, or porcelain, you have to consider this one. It is made of premium material that offers durability and sterling performance.

What we liked

You want to note that these bits are coated with diamond so they are likely to offer you precision and longevity.

Another great thing about them is that they are easy to use so you will not encounter any major difficulties while drilling and we love that about them.

What Could Have Been Better

These bits are not made for heavy-duty jobs and will deform when used for the same according to some users. We feel that the manufacturer should have hardened and honed them to make them stronger.

Buyer's Feedback Section

Section Updated: March 3, 2022

Overall Rating 4.3 of 5 Stars 

Positive Reviews by Users
  • Accurate
  • Easy to use
  • Value for money
Negative Reviews by Users
  • Not suitable for heavy-duty tasks

Frequently Asked Questions

At this point, you probably have a question or two when it comes to picking the best machinist drill bits. We have addressed several to help you get a clearer picture.

Which is stronger titanium or cobalt-coated bits?

That would have to be titanium. These last up to six times longer than regular steel bits. On the other hand, cobalt bits are created to drill through abrasive and tough material hence not ideal for general-purpose use.

What would cause drill bits to break often?

Usually, breaks are caused by not clearing out chips or flexing the bit. However, some bits will simply break because they are made from substandard material.

Our Top Pick

Having checked all 11 products, our top pick would have to be the Metric M42 8% Drill Bits Set. How did we get to that? You may ask.

Well, the first thing that we found appealing about this set is that it is made of premium material that will provide you with longevity and impressive performance.

Moving on swiftly, the set comprises 19 pieces, which are just enough to offer the versatility you need for everyday projects

Another thing is that the bits are honed and hardened for sharpness and will therefore cut through surfaces faster and easier.

Conclusion

As you can see, picking the correct drill bit makes all the difference when it comes to drilling. You probably will not realize this if you have never drilled into metal or wood.

Of course, you would not want to waste your money buying drill bits that will not work for your application or will fall apart after several uses.

As you venture into the market searching for the right product, you will come across numerous options that may leave you spoilt for choice or even confused. However, we believe that after going through our review, you are armed with all the information you need to make the right choice so go ahead and do it.

Leave a Comment